My brother text me earlier this week.  “Friday night, movie night?  10 Years.”  Now it isn’t uncommon for my brother and I to spend time together, we are very close, but I still get super excited when he says he wants to hang out with me.  Add to that the fact that he wanted to see a movie I already planned on seeing and I was so looking forward to tonight.

 

Today he asked me to look up times and tell him when it was playing sometime between 4-5 and we would meet there.  I checked…  Apparently the movie is a limited release and I live nowhere near one of the cities playing it, I even checked a city an hour and a half away.  Alright fine.  I didn’t go to my high school reunion so why should I go watch someone else’s?  Oh right, Channing Tatum.

We decided to go see the movie “Lawless” instead.  I didn’t know anything about the film except that it was rated R, 1 hour and 55 minutes and starred Tom Hardy (a very sufficient Channing Tatum replacement for my evening).  Oh my goodness.  This movie was intense!  I was getting into it.  Probably too into it.  My brother was laughing at me through the whole thing because of my reactions to certain parts.  Without giving anything away, the movie focuses on three brothers who are moonshiners during the Prohibition era and their dealings with gangsters.  There is a lot of blood in this film and I mean a lot.  A couple times I had to turn my head away and take a deep breath to clear my mind of the image and sound of blood.  Aside from that, loved it.  Great movie.

I’d still like to see 10 Years eventually.  But for now, I’m going to go to bed while watching another Tom Hardy flick, Warrior.  Anyone seen that?  I’ve read great things about it on Netflix.  Hopefully it’s another good one.

Night all!

XO,

FR

