I, like most of the world, watched the Opening Ceremonies tonight for the 2012 Summer Olympics.  This is an event I look forward to like most kids look forward to Christmas.  I don’t know what it is, but there is something special and almost magical about this time of year for me.  I hope to one day experience it all in person.  I don’t know if it is from writing this blog or some other reason, but I found myself focused on the fashions from each country while they marched around the stadium.  Some of the outfits were more costumey than others but some were clothing styles that I actually enjoyed.  Below I have added some of my best and most interesting looks from the evening.

Image

I thought Australia looked very snazzy in the green blazers and white pants.  Not a huge fan of the women’s skirts; I feel they look like flight attendants and not world class athletes, but the men looked quite good in my opinion.

Image

The USA was another group that I thought looked really good.  Same concept as the Australian team but the jackets seem a little more formal.  The women’s skirts have a cuter design and flow to them though and don’t seem as stiff as Australia’s.  I could have done without the hats.

Image

I really enjoyed the look of the home country, Great Britain.  The warm ups looked great and the athletes seemed comfortable and happy while wearing them.  I love the white with gold trim, I think it just looks so clean and fresh.

I also liked the outfits worn by the Serbian team, but have been unable to find pictures of them.  If I find any in the next few days I will post a picture.

Now for the outfits that I didn’t quite enjoy…

Image

Don’t get me wrong, this is a cute look…  for young children.  There’s just something about a group of adults wearing this that makes it seem odd.  I told my friend that they all look straight out of “Blues Clues” (for those of you that don’t know what that is, it’s a TV show for young kids with a guy and his cartoon dog, Blue).

Image

Do we see the resemblance?

Again, there were other teams that I didn’t quite love their outfits but they were smaller countries and I haven’t been able to find pictures online as of yet.  I was also quite interested to see what Princess Kate wore, but wasn’t able to get a good shot of it during the ceremonies, I will have to look that up as well.

I found a “best and worst dressed” article from the Opening Ceremonies and for the most part, I totally agree with the author.  As you can see, we disagree over a couple countries but everyone has their own opinion, right?  I completely forgot about their number 1 best dressed country though and I have to say, I totally agree!!  Check it out and see for yourself :  Best and Worst Dressed

Did you watch the Opening Ceremonies?  Were there any particular styles that stuck out to you?

Photo Credits:  12345

