Inspiration (noun):

  1. an inspiring or animating action or influence
  2. something inspired, as an idea
  3. a result of inspired activity
  4. a thing or person that inspires

Inspiration is funny.  So many people are inspired by so many things.  You see on shows like Project Runway where the designers go downtown and take pictures of things like street signs, cobblestone streets and fire hydrants and then take those photos and make outfits from those inspirations…  I am not creative enough to be inspired like that, it is just not how my mind works.  At first I thought I just wasn’t the type of person to be inspired but now I realize I just get inspired in different ways.  So how do I get inspired?

  • Magazines/catalogs:  Looking through my magazines (InStyle, Lucky, Glamour, etc.) or catalogs I always see the complete outfits and I get my ideas from there.  I see what looks good together, what I like and what I don’t like.  I have gone through and torn out pages of outfits and articles of clothing that I like and put into an “inspiration folder.”  I hope to actually use that folder soon to start updating my closet.
  • Store Displays:  Obviously these are put together to show consumers what looks good and to persuade them to buy the items at their stores and it apparently works.  When I see something on a manikin, I usually end up either loving the whole outfit or I am able to see what they have and how I would add to or change the outfit to fit my styles.
  • Finally, I am inspired by my friend’s closets.  How many times do you go out with friends and love what they are wearing?  It happens to me so much!  I am always asking “where did you get that?  Do they still them?  I want one!”  So I usually get a lot of ideas from what they are wearing.

So inspiration can strike in many different ways.  From your favorite TV show, to the flowers blooming in your yard to the store displays created to get you to buy.  What about you?  Where do you find your inspiration?

XO,

FR

