Today I went shopping.  Thrift store shopping.  While I love going to the store and buying a brand new piece that no one else has owned before, I find it even more rewarding to go thrift shopping.  To dig through the racks and find pieces that I love is a great feeling (also spending about half the regular price doesn’t hurt either).  So I thought I would share with you what I was able to find today to try and update my wardrobe a bit.  Today I focused on summer items since the warmer weather is just around the corner.

My first stop was at Goodwill and everything today was 50% off.  I LOVE when that happens because then I rarely feel guilty about shopping there.  I only bought a pair of jeans (well and 7 books but this is a fashion blog, not a literary blog).  I didn’t think much about the jeans, just that the pairs I do have are starting to wear out and it was time to replace them.  I found the pair below for $6.99 ($3.50 with the sale) bought them and went on my merry way.  It wasn’t until I started writing this blog that I decided to do some research.  I landed on the Nordstrom website and a different style but same designer is selling for $168.00.  I then proceeded to happy dance around my room for what I see as a great deal.

After that I ran to Plato’s Closet.  I like this store (for buying, not selling – they hardly ever take my stuff) because I know that what is there are the current fashions and brands.  The problem is that it is a teen store and can sometimes make it difficult for me to find things that fit the way I would like.  But that didn’t stop me from finding two pairs of shorts, 3 tops and a pair of shoes.  The first pair of shorts (coral pair) still had the original tag on it from NY&Co (one of my favorite stores) so I knew they originally sold for $24.95 and I paid $8.00.  Second pair of shorts (pink & white) were from American Eagle after checking their website, shorts in this general style run about $39.50 and I paid $10.00.  Now onto the shoes.  I love these and cannot wait for the first time I wear them out!  They are from Charlotte Russe and most of their strappy sandal heels are $35.50…  I paid $10.00.  Are you seeing a pattern??  The first tank top is from American Eagle and those range in price from $17.50 – $24.50 for this style, $5.00 is what I paid.  Next is a vest from Hollie, which is a company I know nothing about and therefore cannot find any comparable prices, but I only paid $3.00 for the vest so I am pretty sure I still got a deal.  Finally was a tank top from Decree, a JCPenney company.  Their tanks run around $17 and mine was only $4.00

So for a day that could have cost me around $320 I only spent $49.40 (and that includes the 7 books I purchased).  Not too shabby if you ask me.  Yet another reason I thrift shop.

XO,

FR

